“An Unforgettable Experience” by Eva Bukaiova from Comenius University, Bratislava, Slovakia

Only while travelling do you find yourself. Countless travel blogs and motivational quotes tease us with the romantic idea of finding one’s true self while being away from home. After a wonderful semester at UEA, I can truly say: leaving your comfort zone to get to know a different part of the world does confront you with your flaws, but it also brings to the surface your unknown qualities. By the time you get back home, you are richer in experiences and happy memories, and your time spent abroad will have deepened your awareness of the world around you and taught you lessons you would not have been able to learn at home.

My name is Eva, and I am a law student from the small, but quite lovely, Slovakia. My choice to pick UEA as my Erasmus+ destination was a conscious and thoroughly researched one. UEA’s good rankings were promising and appealing, especially those regarding student satisfaction. I had also received plenty of positive feedback from former and current students. Looking back on the months I spent in Norwich, I must say, I could not have chosen better!

Regarding my studies at UEA, I was very satisfied with the wide range of module options offered for Erasmus+ law students. At my home university, I had focused on EU- and international law, so I was very glad that I could take up modules on these areas at UEA. One of my three modules was Intellectual Property Law, which turned out to be not just an important asset to my studies, but also one of the best modules I have ever taken, thanks to the lecturer’s good sense of humor and the Star Wars themed lessons. All of my modules were excellent in providing a fairly strong theoretical base, together with practical skills. The transferable skills I gained from these courses helped me achieve the highest mark on my final thesis at my home university. The dynamic discussions in the seminars also motivated me to think critically and approach problems from different aspects.

My semester abroad, however, was not just about books and lectures. As mentioned earlier, it was a time of self-growth and self-discovery. The inspiring and interesting people I met at UEA – people who came from around the world – played a great part in this process. Their traditions and views on different aspects of life gave me insights I would have not been able to get at home. I also made some very good friends, with whom I am still in touch.

Another thing I loved about my study abroad experience was the beautiful location: Norwich is a charming, almost idyllic town with many historical buildings, lovely teahouses and tiny bookshops. I also liked the surroundings of the university. Although I lived off campus, I often stayed there after school to chat with my friends. It was nice to have several cafés and bars near my lecture hall, in case I needed a coffee or two after a long day. The campus also offered serene scenery for an introvert’s contemplations about life. The park around the lake was an especially great place to vent out stress or just stroll around with the bunnies on a sunny day.

Before finishing my Master’s at my home university, I wanted to gain experiences abroad, hoping that they would serve as new motivation and stimuli for my future plans. My semester at UEA gave me those experiences, and I am very grateful to all of those who played a part in making it an unforgettable stay.

Thanks UEA!

Leave a Reply

