UCSC, Concepcion, Chile

I started my time abroad in July 2014 flying to Buenos Aires, Argentina where a friend and I began our travels around the Southern Cone of Latin America. We visited Argentina, Uruguay and Chile, which is where I settled to begin my semester abroad. Living with a family in Concepcion made it easier to adapt to Chilean Life (and the bread heavy diet!), they were keen to show mw the local area and in my first week took me to the beach and helped me explore my new surroundings. As we were a small group of just 9 international students during my time at UCSC (Universidad Catolica de la Santisima Concepcion) we bonded quickly and soon were planning various trips around the country, including adventures to the Northern desert, volcanoes, small Southern German communities, and much more! After Chile I chose to spend the second half of my year abroad in Buenos Aires, returning to the city I love the most in South America. There I worked and lived in a popular hostel in the city centre as well as working for an organisation called AIESEC setting up exchange programs for students much like myself who want to spend time abroad in Argentina. Although cliché, I have to say I’ve had the best year of my life in Latin America. I’ve made life long friends and have seen some of the most beautiful places on earth, I’ve loved it so much I can’t stop thinking about when I’m going to be able to return!

Alexandra Congreve, PPL (Spanish with International Development)  

blog4

blog3

blog2

Leave a Reply

